Lower Than Atlantis: Lower Than Atlantis

I know this particular review is a bit overdue, but that’s mainly because I’ve been trying to spend with as much time with this record as possible. As many of you may now, especially if you’ve read many of my older posts or lists, that I am a HUGE fan of the band. I don’t believe many people in America even know about them, because they’re from the UK, but I believe that this album might change that. Lower Than Atlantis are a a British punk-rock band that have been consistently releasing amazing records since before 2010. I’ve began following the band since when debut LP came out and have absolutely fell in love with the band.

Admittedly, I have noticed drastic stylistic changes in the band from  album to album. One could argue that they have gotten much lighter in their overall sound and less aggressive since Far Q and they’d be right. To some peplum that may  be seen  as selling out. For me, I think I’ve fallen too deep in love with this band for them to do any wrong in my eyes. While i think it’s important for some people to have bands that function in the same way, it can be hard to be honest with yourself when listening to the album (hence why I’ve listened to it so much since it was released).

I will say this, the band are still writing really catchy songs that you’ll be humming for hours on end. Songs like “Here we Go,” “English Kids in America,” “Emily,” and “Words Don’t Come So Easily” are all prime examples of this. When the first single, “Here we Go” came out I thought, wow, this is probably the heaviest riff the band ever wrote, and I got really excited for the album. Shortly however was the release of “English Kids in America” along with its music video counterpart and this made me slightly question whether or not I would like the album as a whole. I believe “Emily” was also released early as a single, which I enjoyed and that song helped reestablish some faith for me with the album.

After listening to the album multiple times now, I must conclude that I really don’t hate any song on the album, but the album production and songwriting style definitely suggest a band that has seemed to integrate themselves a little more with the mainstream. This then brings us o the subject of selling out. Selling out is a phrase I don’t ever want to use to describe any band, let alone a band so important to me.  The fact of the matter remains though that the band’s sound n0w is drastically different from their previous material. The lyrics of “Criminal” further suggest that the band are aware of this shift in the band’s change and admit to using the label’s money in order to maintain their equipment as opposed to being products of a label. I gotta hand it to the band though that they have definitely done everything on their own terms, which I highly respect.

That pretty mud brings the conversation full circle. I really do enjoy the record, but understand that the sound is very different and may cause some rifts among fans. Still worth checking out if you’re in the mood for some hard-hitting feel-good music.

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

