Process of Fusion

Process of Fusion are a progressive metal band fronted by a rapper as well as a regular vocalist. I think their goal was to combine Dream Theater with Linkin Park because you can hear the Dream Theater influences all over their music and the vocalist contrast is just as prominent. I think it’s alright, but it sounds too much like a sum of their influences. It’s not quite unique enough. When I first heard the opening track of their newest EP, “Connections”, I just though it sounds like Dream Theater’s more upbeat works with vocalists trying to create that Linkin Park Dichotomy. Seeing that Dream Theater and Linkin Park both suck nowadays, it’s nice to have a band that combines the best of those words together, but there’s nothing different that makes them stand out too much. You can’t just rap over heavy prog metal and expect to be the next big thing (not to say that that’s the bands overall goal).

It may seem like I’m slandering this band a lot, but I’m trying not to. I like the EP; I think the songs are well written and groovy, but I think it sounds too much like Dream Theater. I also think some of the rapping is a little lame, but then again, Linkin Park’s rapping was lame and so is everything Limp Bizkit have done so I guess there’s nothing to criticize there. If you like Dream Theater and/or Linkin Park then check this band out and let me know what you think. Maybe I’m just being a bitter cunt and am not seeing the big picture. All I can say is that what I hear sounds almost like both of these aforementioned bands’ music by the numbers sat on top of each other. It’s a great concept, but you need to expand more on it. They’re on the right path and this EP is a great starting point, but I want to see them really step up. There’s not a lot of room for rapping and metal nowadays. The old guards have either broke up or started writing shitty music. Korn and Limp Bizkit both had lulls where they wrote poor music, but now are back on top doing what they did best back in the late 90s. Hactivist are a new band incorporating rap and metal, which I think are pretty good. But other than that…not much else in that field. That’s why we need something new and exciting to revitalize the scene. Process of Fusion could be this band, but they just need to step it up.

Luke Helker

 

Leave a Reply

