Top 10 of 2012 (So far)

Since we’re in June, it is now the halfway point in 2012 and so I decided to list out some of my favorite records of the year. We still have a long way to go and we’ve already been blessed with an enormous amount of really good, solid albums from some killer bands. Just making a top ten of albums released at this point was really fucking difficult. The list you are about to read is a culmination of everything up to this point and is therefore subject to change. In fact I guarantee it will change based off on all of the new stuff that will come out in the upcoming months and it also depends on how often I listen to these albums. Some albums might be killer now, but then fade away and I loose interest in them. I’m also trying to put in some more non-metal albums, which makes it even harder. Anywho, this is my list up to this point. Enjoy.

Honorable mentions: The Shins: Port of Morrow, Emmure: Slave to the Game, Upon a Burning Body: Red White and Green, Demon Hunter: True Defiance, War of Ages: Return to Life, Veil of Maya: Eclipse

10. For Today – Immortal: One of my most highly anticipated records of 2012, these guys did not disappoint at all. While it may not show up on too too many lists because of the colossal amount of good shit out there, I kept these guys in and knocked Upon a Burning Body out just because I liked this one a hair better than UABB’s. Both are solid and killer records and after I see them play the new songs live this summer, it may change this list up.

9. Bruce Springsteen – Wrecking Ball: You don’t fuck with the boss and this time he’s released the beat record he’s ever done since 1984’s Born in the U.S.A. Chalk full of great hits, Springsteen fucks all the rules and fucks old age in this brilliant collection of soon to be classic tracks.

8. Van Halen – A Different Kind of Truth: Again with the heritage acts. This time we have the ORIGINAL lineup with David Lee Roth. This album seems to really divide people. Even the die hards can’t agree whether they like it or not. I’m part of the group that really likes it (obviously). I thought “Tattoo” was a great single and I think the rest of the album stacks up nicely.

7. Jack White – Blunderbuss: Jack White = songwriting god. PERIOD.

6. Every Time I Die – Ex Lives: Not the best record they’ve ever done, but it’s still a rager of a record and sure to not disappoint any fan. I’m just glad that we have a new Every Time I Die record and not a Damned Things record. I loved the Damned Things record, but I prefer Every Time I Die.

5. Architects – Daybreaker: Read the review I posted a few hours ago. You’ll see exactly what I would say here. This band totally stepped up and the album is killer. Arguable the best they’ve done yet.

4. Cancer Bats – Dead Set on Living: The last record was the record that made me really like this band and really get behind them. This is the record that makes me LOVE this band. Holy shit this is a killer record.

3. Black Breath – Sentenced to Life: These last three records have been cycling for me. All of these last three records are very strong contenders for best metal record of the year, but there’s still more to come. This record in particular is like listening to a war. It’s brutal, it’s fast as hell, it’s heavy as fuck, it’s the best thrash, punk, metal record of 2012 possibly.

2. Lamb of God – Resolution: A real departure for this band and arguably their best. I’ve been listening to this record probably the most out of all of the records so far. They’re probably the best metal band around right now and this record is just another of one of the many reasons why this band are the best. I love the orchestra bits in “King Me” and the clean vox in “Insurrection” and every other song is just as killer.

1. Meshuggah – Koloss: It’s been so long since we had Obzen, and now we have this beautiful piece of work. It’s amazing. It’s technically masterful, extremely proficient, heavy as FUCK, and just insanely good. I’m sure it;ll be on a lot of people’s lists and if it hasn’t gotten the attention it deserves yet from you, then what the fuck are you doing with your lives?

So there you go. That’s my list for 2012. Like i said, it’s very subject to change and I’m almost positive it’ll be completely different in 2012 when I make the big 20. In the meantime, keep an eye out for records from these bands: While She Sleeps, After thew Burial, Lower than Atlantis, Gojira, Periphery, Rush, Whitechapel, Feed the Rhino, Linkin Park, Testament, The Offspring, Aeromsith, The Darkness, and Mumford and Sons for starters.

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

