Nicholas Rowe & The Forgotten Sons of Steel River

 

“Making music for every season, the hard working American, the Truth”

Thats what Nicholas Rowe sets out to do with his grassroots/americana group. I’m sure I’ve said this before, but if I haven’t, I’m a total sucker for folk music. If it weren’t for metal music, I’d be listening to nothing but folk music. I can’t get enough of it and this group has such a rich, full sound that I want to see them perform at the Philadelphia Folk Festival so that they can be exposed to a much wider audience. Everyone should be listening to these guys. If you’re a fan of Mumford & Sons, Tom Waits or anything in between, you’ll definitely dig this band.

The most surprising thing I found about this band is that they’re from Ohio. I though nothing good ever came from Ohio, but I guess I was wrong, because these guys are the real deal. It’s very hard to pull off folk music and make it convincing if don’t actually immerse yourself in the lifestyle and the music because it’s so honest and pure. This band pulls it off really well and I highly recommend checking out their bandcamp page (forgottensons.bandcamp.com) for their EP. It’s a six song EP that Nicholas recorded and mixed himself (the EP is mixed very well too by the way) featuring a collection of stripped down, americana-at-its-finest songs about the Lord, Nature, Rivers, and all of those fun folky themes.

Do yourselves a favor and educate yourself on some real music. Not that Justin Beiber shit you people call music.

Luke Helker

One Response to “Nicholas Rowe & The Forgotten Sons of Steel River”

  1. This band IS amazing. Their live performances are fantastic as well!

Leave a Reply

