Astralnaut

Astralnaut are a stone/doom metal band from Ireland. Now i’m not the biggest fan of this particular genre of metal so I’m no authority on the matter either, but I really like these guys. I like the Sword, Opeth, Shrinebuilder and High in Fire (I believe they would all be classified under that genre to some degree) and I feel like this band could certainly run with those big dogs. They’ve got that hallmark blend of heavy riffing and an intricate melodic structure that takes the listeners on a roller coaster of sound. The thing about these guys in particular was that their singer has a voice that kinda reminds me of David St. Hubbins of Spinal Tap (That might be a weird analogy). It’s very soulful and rich. All in all, the way I would describe them would be if The Sword was fronted by David St. Hubbins. It may sound like a weird combination, especially if you are unfamiliar with Spinal Tap, but I think you guys might agree with me on that…or not.

Here are some links that you can use to explore and learn more about this band and their music:

http://www.soundcloud.com/astralnautband
http://astralnautband.blogspot.co.uk
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.d…
http://www.youtube.com/user/AstralnautMu…

You can also check out their facebook page as well as their bandcamp page. In case I haven’t gone off about bandcamp before I’ll do so now. I hope all of you fans/bands are utilizing bandcamp. It’s a great new site that allows you to post your music and you can control the price from $0 to $9 or whatever you want to price it. You can also have it be a name-your-own-price deal for the consumer so they don’t have to pay for a new artist, but can tip if they end up liking the artist. Bandcamp is a great tool for new bands and i hope all of you are taking advantage of what it has to offer.

Take care guys, keep supporting local bands, even if you don’t like the genre.

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

