Shadows Fall: Fire From the Sky

This is seventh studio record from metalcore giants, Shadows fall. This is also the first record the band have done with new label Razor and Tie. I’ll be honest though, I’m not a huge fan of this band. I think they have a couple of killer tracks, and I think that Retribution was their best album, despite not getting a lot of attention around it. Otherwise, I just never really paid too much attention to this band and never really understood why they were getting so much attention. I have since learned why they were so popular earlier and although my feelings toward them haven’t really changed, I still respect what they do and they still do deliver some good tunes.

That being said, this is an interesting album. It’s a big step for this band and it goes in a bit of a new direction. There’s still the undeniable elements that have defined Shadows fall over the past decade, but they threw in some curveballs like some death metal growls and some gang-vocals, which seem a little out-of-place for a band like Shadows Fall. I think they pulled it off though so good on them for that. There are a lot of great hooks and great melodies, but i would argue that there’s nothing really over the top; nothing to reel you in; it’s not very memorable. The singles are, but that’s about it.

It’s not a bad record at all. In fact, I think it’s a good step for this band, but for me personally, it’s not a record that gets me totally hooked on the band. When I first heard “Still I Rise” I thought, ‘holy shit this is good. I should check into what else this band has to offer.’ I really like Retribution, Threads of Life, and The War Within, but I wasn’t a huge fan of anything else they did, but I can lump this record in with the other ones. I’d certainly listen to this record again, but i don’t think it’s worthy of my top 20 for 2012.

Maybe I’m just being ignorant and maybe i just never gave these guys a proper chance. if so, I’ll gladly hold my hands and say that this is a brilliant record, but even if I am wrong, I still don’t think this is a brilliant record. It’s a good record and a good step in the right direction for this band, but the bottom line is I simply just don’t care too much about this band I guess. Nothing personal though. I think the problem is that I kinda outgrew the whole metalcore scene for the most part and only a few bands that I absolutely adored when I loved this genre (All That Remains, Killswitch Engage, Still Remains, Bullet for my valentine, Avenged Sevenfold) have been able to really stay in my mind and well in my radar. I’ll have to change that.

If you like this band and if you were one of those kids that absolutely loved them, then there’s no reason you shouldn’t like this record.

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

