Morse Coda @ The Champ

Well as you all know, yesterday was 4/20, which means for some of you, you probably reveled in some bullshit holiday in which you over indulge in something you probably already over indulge in to begin. Some of you might have celebrated the birthday of our history’s most notorious tyrant. And i’m also sure some of you acknowledged the anniversary of our nation’s most horrific academic tragedy. Whatever you did, I honestly hope it had nothing to do with those horrible events that I mentioned (not to mention that the Flyers lost again, so that’s another bummer). And since you’re reading this, I assume it’s because you want to hear all about my day yesterday, right? Well, I’ll just skip ahead to the concert and save all the boring details of class, etc.

All in all, the show was great. Some minor bumps that affected when the band performed, but I don’t want to go on a whole rant. I’ll paraphrase though, Jeremy Weiss is a douche bag, CI records sucks, and if you’re a local band trying to get known, try not to resort to only the Champ or the Chameleon Club, because those guys will dick you over. Every one in the Lancaster area knows this,but unfortunately, Jeremy has the upper hand, so not a lot of people can really speak out if they want to get well known. It’s a damn shame, but it’s kinda the nature of the beast. Anywho, on with the show!!

This is the second time I’ve seen a full Morse Coda set as much as I would like to say that they;re getting better with every show, two shows, doesn’t really support that all that much. They blew me away the first time I saw them at the Chameleon Club for the MMP CD release show, but they really brought it hard last night. It might have been the sub-average sound system that the Champ provides, but whatever the case may be, the show was great. They’re transitions were smooth, the vibe was palpatating and Michael Stipe (not THE Michael Stipe of R.E.M.) was strutting his stuff like never before. If you rad my review of the MMP show in the Snapper, I compared him to “Jonathon Davis of Korn meets Jim Morrison of the Doors”  and I’ll stand by that claim forever. They even performed a cover of a Doors song, which was phenomenal. Now, I’ve never seen the Doors live, but i imagine, if I saw them doing a small club date before they were famous, it would have been just like Morse Coda’s performance. They’re really exciting to watch and i’ll post a photo album after this so you can get a feel for what it was like.

Since most of you reading this probably don’t even know who Morse Coda are, it would be a waste of time to go in depth into each song they played. However, I will tell you these two KEY pieces of information.

1) The band will be releasing their debut album, Sublimation, on June 27th. It will be released digitally with a few copies pressed onto Vinyl with digital downloads included. As soon as I get a copy of it, I’ll review it for you all.

2) The band have a handful of show dates coming up in the summer. They are as follows:

5/19 – Lit Lounge  – New York, NY

6/1 – The Note – West Chester, PA (w/ Spotted Atrocious)

7/8 – Trash Bar – Brooklyn, NY

There should be a few more TBA, but in case there aren’t, I highly recommend this band to any of you who likes to rock out. Period. I mean, this band can appeal to anyone and you’d be crazy to miss this band. Please support the local music scene and do your best to check them out.

Luke Helker

 

2 Responses to “Morse Coda @ The Champ”

  1. We played that show to. Morse Coda was awesome and your pictures were great also!!

Leave a Reply

