The All-American Rejects: Kids in the Street

I’ll be honest, I didn’t know this band had anything new coming out until about a month ago. Normally I find out about these things within three months advance, but this was kind of a last minute shock. I though these guys fell off the face of the earth. After the poor performance of When the World Come Down, following the defining moments on Move Along, I figured the band just called it a day. Nope! It’s been four years since the bands last release (just like Shinedown) and this is the bands fourth album (also like Shinedown!).

I’m listening to the album as I type this and as I’m writing this, I’m not sure if i like it. It’s really different from all their older albums and i’m not quite sure where it fits in. Before they were really pop punk with some alternative influences that started to come out on When the World Comes Down, but this album is really more relaxed, but still wanting to break out and run away. Unlike the last few records, this one is much more personal and actually tells a story and not just a collection of songs.

Those of you looking for hits like “Move Along” and “Gives You Hell” will be sorely disappointed. Instead of radio friendly hits, the band finally got their shit together and started writing SONGS!! Songs like “Someday’s Gone”, “Beekeeper’s Daughter”, and “Kids in the Street” capturing the simple pleasures of being a child and playing in the street. It’s a whimsical memoir of a time long gone by and engulfed in “the real word”.

Now that I’ve reached the end of this review and this album I have concluded that I really really like this record. Forget everything you know or thought you knew about this band. This is the new them. I’ll be honest, I thought I had this band figured out. I thought they’d thrown in the towel or were just gonna shit out some mediocre songs to try and maintain a level or public status, but boy was I proven wrong. This is exactly what I wanted the new Shinedown album to sound like, something really fresh and new. The problem is though, I don’t think this album will get nearly enough (if any) of the radio play that it deserves. Shinedown will of course because they’re album was the same thing as before (a good album, but the same thing), but I doubt these guys will, which is a shame because I thought this album was really strong and refreshing.

As far as I know, the band have no future tours or festival appearances, but if they come around your area, definitely check them out. I’ve never seen them live before and would love to see how these songs translate onto the live stage.

Good job guys, really good record. This is probably the biggest surprise of 2012. Who would have thought that The All-American Rejects were going to be the band to pull it off this year?

Luke Helker

One Response to “The All-American Rejects: Kids in the Street”

  1. Hey lukey, they’ll actually be playing the 2nd day of Bamboozle, which by the way has a pretty sick line-up

Leave a Reply

