Every Time I Die: Ex Lives

Finally, the highly anticipated new album from  Every Time I Die has arrived!!! Is it too late to talk about The Damned Things? Because i did enjoy them a lot, but I  prefer Keith Buckley to be fronting Every Time I Die. Now we have anew album from them so I can  be happy, and rightfully so. Though not as good as Gutter Phenomenon and Hot Damn, the album is a stormer of a record. It combines the raw attitude of Gutter Phenomenon with the more accessible and more immediate sound of the band’s last record, New Junkie Aesthetic.

I think it’s a great record even though, as a whole, it doesn’t seem to be as well received as some of their older material. I’m seeing a lot of mixed reviews from other fans, which is interesting because I liked the record a lot after the first listen, but after reading some slightly negative review, I can’t help but feel like I’m part of a minority here.

In the grand scheme of things and considering the bands outstanding track record, I think most people were expecting a lot more from Every Time I Die (especially considering the hiatus for The Damned Things might have given them time to write better songs). The stand out tracks are amazing and are totally perfect for the bands live show, but thats it really. As much as I love the album as a whole, I don’t think I would want a majority of these new songs in a full setlist from them. It’s a snarling record and I think it’s great, but not a perfect record and does have a few filler tracks on it. Overall, the sound is still Every Time I Die at their finest and everyone certainly pulls their weight on the record.

Some of the standout tracks on this record though are some of the best songs that the band’s ever written. “Underwater Bimbos from Outer Space” is a hell of a way to kick off the record, with Keith Buckley’s vocals as beautiful as ever chanting the anthemic, “I want to be dead with my friends”. “Partying is Such Sweet Sorrow” is a really interesting song for this band, featuring a banjo hook to start it off and continuing with a country/folky melody and lyrics. Other stand out tracks include: “I Suck (Blood)”, and  “Drag King”.

All in all, I thin it’s a very strong record from the band and any fan of ETID will love most of the songs, if not all of them. I heard that the band kills it live also and would love the opportunity to see them play some of these songs. If you get the chance, you’d be a full to pass up seeing this band.

Anywho, take care guys. Talk to y’all later.

Luke Helker

 

Leave a Reply

