Chiddy Bang: Breakfast

This is the debut album from Philly area alternative hip-hop duo Chiddy Bang. The two members of this band, Chidera “Chiddy” Anamege and Noah “Xaphoon Jones” Beresin, both are Drexel University graduates and have generated quite a buzz in the underground hip-hop scene around the neighboring Philly suburbs like Swarthmore, ever since their inception in 2008. Finally in 2012, they’ve released their debut album, Breakfast.

Let me give you guys a brief rant on my opinions on rap. I’ll be honest I really like rap and hip-hop, but the old school rap groups. Snoop Dogg, N.W.A., Public Enemy, B.I.G., Tupac, Jay-Z…I pretty much like any rap group or solo rap artist from the 80s up until Eminem in the early 2000s. The reason is because the artists that I mentioned developed a style of music centered around the stories that they had to say and share with everyone. These stories were intense stories all about the drug problems in America that they and they friends were dealing with in the 80s on the West Coast. Then the 90’s saw the emergence of Notorious and Jay-Z, both ex-hustlers with stories to share. My point is that these guys all had stories to share, whereas nowadays, no one hustles crack anymore and no one really had good stories to tell about themselves. The whole rap and hip hop community has become all about making it rain with money in the clubs and bragging about who you’re sleeping with or getting high and it’s very disappointing. I don’t think Wiz Khalifa, Lil Wayne, or Rick Ross are good at all because they’re liars in a way, portraying a personality and lifestyle that they were never involved in, and then they compare themselves to people like Jay-Z and Eminem who are actually really good.

Anyway, getting back to Chiddy Bang, like I said in rant somewhere, rap isn’t genuine anymore and Chiddy Band is no exception. However, I really like Chiddy Bang for a couple of reasons. 1) He can actually rap and is good at it. He doesn’t rely on a heavy bass and cheesy MIDI riffs to carry the tune. Yes, some of his songs features those elements, but he can actually his own weight if you take that all away. 2) He’s actually quite funny. Hopefully he’s trying to be tongue-in-cheek with his approach to his music, because no offense, some of his lyrics are lame. I mean, he’s singing about eating breakfast….what?!?! Who gives a shit about someone singing about breakfast?! BUT!! Like I said in number 1, he’s a really good rapper and the way presents himself and delivers his lyrics and you really don’t think about it when you’re listening to him.

All around his sound is quite chill, with musical influences from Radiohead, Passion Pit, and MGMT, and delivered through Noah’s beats. I’m not racist at all, but when it comes to rap and hip hop, you can tell if the beats are done by a white guy or a black guy, and you can easily tell without knowing anything about Chiddy Bang that there’s a white guy in the group and it’s not a bad thing at all.

I honestly would recommend this to anyone regardless of whether or not they love or hate rap. Chiddy Bang is somewhat of a guilty pleasure for me, but I’m not really guilty about it. I think they’re really good. Kinda like how i would want the Gym Class Heroes to be. Anywho, enough from me. I’ve done enough damage here.

Until next time,

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

