Grammy Winners: Production/Country/Rap

If you’ve been keeping up with me and my posts concerning the Grammys, then you’ll have seen my comments and opinions on who I think should win and why. Well now that the Grammys are tonight, the Recording Academy has already released the winners for all the categories, except for the handful of awards they’ll announce tonight. Now I’m going to go through the categories that I reviewed earlier and we’ll see how I matched up with the Academy’s decisions.

Production: Producer of the Year

My choice: Butch Vig

Winner: Paul Epworth

It kinda makes sense that Paul would win considering his work with Adele this year and he did do a great job like I said in my earlier post, I just thought Butch deserved a little more recognition.

 

Best Remixed Recording

My Choice: Rope (Deadmau5 Mix)

Winner: Cinema (Skrillex remix)

One done for Skrillex. He’s up for four more awards. Let’s see how lucky he is.

 

Country: Best Country Album

My choice: My Kinda Party (Jason Aldean)

Winner: Own the Night (Lady Antebellum)

I honestly thought Jason Aldean was going to run train on the rest of the competition this year. I, mean, he was the most talked about country artist of the year and I figured that would equate in Grammy success. Good for Lady Antebellum though because that record was really really good.

 

Best Country Song

My choice: Are you Gonna Kiss Me or Not (Thompson Square)

Winner: Mean (Taylor Swift)

I’m not surprised really, Taylor Swift is an amazing artist and her songs were great. Like I said in my posts, I’m no expert on Country music so I don’t expect to be right on everything. I should’ve known though that Taylor was going to win.

 

Best Country Duo/Collaboration Performance

My choice: Are you Gonna Kiss Me or Not (Thompson Square)

Winner: Barton Hollow (The Civil Wars)

This was honestly the last nominee I expected to win because Jason Aldean and Kenny Chesney were also on the list and they’re both really famous. But you know what, good for The Civil Wars. I thought the song was great and I hope we hear a lot more from then soon.

 

Best Country Solo Performance

My choice: Dirt Road Anthem (Jason Aldean)

Winner: Mean (Taylor Swift)

It totally makes sense. She won best album, so it only makes sense that she win for her solo performance in Mean as well. Good for her.

 

Rap: Best Rap Album

My choice: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy  (Kanye West)

Winner: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (Kanye West)

Even though I hate Kanye and I think he’s an idiot, he really did have the best album out of all the others. Good for him.

 

Best Rap Song

My choice: I Need a Doctor (Dr. Dre…)

Winner: All of the Lights (Kanye West…)

This was a hard one to figure out because they were all really good and strong songs and they were all deserving of this award. I’m no expert on Rap and I’m not sure how you would exactly judge Rap, so like Country, I need some more time to sharpen my skills and knowledge of these genres.

 

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

My choice: I Need a Doctor (Dr. Dre…)

Winner: All of the Lights (Kanye West…)

(Insert previous statement here)

 

Best Rap Performance

My choice: Otis (Jay-Z/Kanye West)

Winner: Otis (Jay-Z/Kanye)

Great song! I love this song and the fact that it pays respects to an R&B legend and obvious influence on both men, it’s just a great song.

Leave a Reply

