Grammy Winners: Alt/Dance/Pop/Rock

Alternative: Best Alternative Music Album

My Choice: Codes and Keys (Death Cab for Cutie)

Winner: Bon Iver (Bon Iver)

Personally I thought every album on the list was a fantastic record and they all deserved to win best album and i said that before when I initially discussed this particular category. Good for Bon Iver for winning a legitimate award (he won Best New Artist, but he’s not a new artist) even though the Recording Academy is clearly brain dead.

 

Dance: Best Dance Recording

My choice: Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Skrillex)

Winner: Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Skrillex)

…and so it has begun. The dubstep-apolcalypse will soon be upon us. Just you wait, you think some of it is bad now, Skrillex is only but a taste of this dubstep craze.

 

Best Dance/Electronica Album

My choice: 4×4=12 (Deadmau5)

Winner: Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Skrillex)

I only voted for Deadmau5 because Skrillex’s “album” is clearly an EP. Seven songs is not enough for an album, and therefore, Skrillex should not have won. But the Recording Academy has gotten away with an enormous amount of bad calls like that, so I guess I should’ve known from the past that Skrillex would have won no matter what.

 

Pop: Best Pop Vocal Album

My choice: Born this Way (Lady Gaga)

Winner: 21 (Adele)

I hate it when there are no surprises. As soon as i saw this, I knew that Adele would completely run train on the competition and  since there are no more surprises, yes, Adele won everything. You’ll see in full detail soon enough.

 

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

My choice: Body and Soul (Tony Bennet & Amy Winehouse)

Winner: Body and Soul (Tony Bennet & Amy Winehouse)

Thank fucking God this won. If any of the others would have won, I would have shot up the Academy.

 

Best Pop Solo Performance

My choice: You and I (Lady Gaga)

Winner: Someone Like You (Adele)

I just wanted Gaga to win SOMETHING! Come on.

 

Rock: Best Rock Performance 

My choice: Walk (Foo Fighters)

Winner: Walk (Foo Fighters)

That one was practically a free-bee

 

Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance

My choice: Curl of the Burl (Mastodon)

Winner: White Limo (Foo Fighters)

I’m seriously pissed about this. The only sliver of a representation of metal music in the Grammys and they fucking give it to the worst Foo Fighters song on that album. Metal music never gets goos representation in the Grammys and it’s an utter sin.

 

Best Rock Song

My choice: Walk (Foo Fighters)

Winner: Walk (Foo Fighters)

Another dead giveaway

 

Best Rock Album

My choice: Wasting Light (Foo Fighters)

Winner: Wasting Light (Foo Fighters)

Excellent album. Foo Fighters and Adele swept the Grammys this year and for good reason. Both put out stellar records with an arsenal of stellar songs.

Leave a Reply

