Mayhem Festival Announcement!

Earlier today, Mayhem fest released the first announcement of bands to be featured on this years stage. Based on what I said yesterday, it looks as though the Slipknot rumors are true. Slipknot are the confirmed headliners for this years festival as well as Slayer and Anthrax. I hoped Anthrax would be there and am glad they’re gonna be here, but I wasn’t expecting Slayer to be added. Don’t get me wrong, having two of the big four thrash bands is amazing and I’m not complaining at all, I just wasn’t expecting them.

They also stated that there will be a special guest band to make a few appearences. The website said that the band would be announced on March 5th, but due to conflicting Mayhem Festival facebook pages, I think Motorhead is going to be that special guest, which is fantastic. Not only will there be two of the big 4, but the one band that inspired all four of the big 4 thrash bands.

The rotating main stage includes The Devil Wears Prada, As I Lay Dying and Asking Alexandria. I think this is a pretty good lineup because I think The Devil Wears Prada are heavy and metal enough to garner some of the metal fans at an event like this and I think putting them on a bill with people who would most likely ignore them, might now be slightly turned on to them. As I Lay Dying are great for a festival like this. Perfectly metal enough and have great songs. Nothing wrong with this band. Now my big problem is Asking Alexandria. I could go into a whole rant about how much I hate this band now, but I don’t think they’re good enough for this bill. They’re too hardcore with electronic influences and even though TDWP is similar to that, TDWP are the bridge between the Mayhem Festival and Warped Tour which is where Asking Alexandria belong (Plus Asking Alexandria ripped off Slipknot’s “zero bullshit” live show feature and having both band potentially on the same stage is insulting to these metal legends). I can promise you’ll I’ll be physically booing Asking Alexandria and I don’t boo. They don’t even play their good songs during their set.

Whitechapel and High on Fire are also announced for the side stages so I’m not surprised that Whitechapel are booked, but High on Fire are a nice surprise. As far as I know, they haven’t appeared before and they’re a great band for this show. A little sludgy and stoner-y but I think a lot of people will show up for both bands.

Now, there are four more bands to be announced for the side stages. Based on what’s been announced and what i speculated yesterday, Volbeat is still up for grabs and very viable as well as All that Remains. Since TDWP and Asking Alexandria are a bit out of left field for this festival, it’s a little more difficult to guess who’ll appear because the net has just been widened, so we’ll have to see what happens.

Since the announcement was just made today we probably won’t hear about the remaining bands for maybe another month or so, but I’ll keep you guys posted. Until then, I recommend buying tickets just for the main stage alone.

Leave a Reply

