54th Grammys: Rap

Just like Country, Rap and Hip-Hop in’t my speciality and therefore I may have the complete opposite wrong opinions of the Academy, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Best Rap Performance: Nominees

1. Look at Me Now – Chris Brown, Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes

2. Otis – Jay-Z & Kanye West

3. The Show Goes On – Lupe Fiasco

4. Moment 4 Life – Nicki Minaj & Drake

5. Black and Yellow – Wiz Khalifa

My Choice: Otis

This was a really tough choice for me because I’m very against songs that sample or rip off other songs, so in this case we would eliminate “Otis” and “The Show Goes On” because of that. But then when you look at some of the other choices, I don’t think the others are all that great either. Chris Brown is an asshole and shouldn’t win anything and the song sucked anyway so it doesn’t matter. Wiz is just like Lil Wayne now in that he just raps about weed and shit and I don’t think a song like that really deserves a Grammy. The Nicki Minaj song isn’t horrible, despite the fact that she ripped off her entire style from Lil Kim, so there’s no originality to be had with anything here, but I chose what I chose because I think it’s the best song out of all of them, I guess. Feel free to argue with me on this. I think Otis Redding is alegend and this song is like a real tribute to him more than ripping him off like Lupe rips Modest Mouse off.

 

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration: Nominees

1. Party – Beyonce & Andre 3000

2. I’m On One – DJ Khaled, Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne

3. I Need a Doctor – Dr. Dre, Eminem & Skylar Grey

4. What’s My Name? – Rihanna & Drake

5. Motivation – Kelly Rowland & Lil Wayne

6. All of the Lights – Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie

My Choice: I Need a Doctor 

Eminem and Dr. Dre have always been working together, but never sang together until now and now they brought in newcomer Skylar Grey into the mix, and what a mix it is. I think the fact that everything that’s sung is like a story about Dr. Dre’s history in the eyes of Eminem and then they bring in Dr. Dre at the end to wrap it all up just makes it so much more personal, monumental and biographical than everything else.To me, rapping is supposed to be autobiographical right? I mean, that’s the whole origin of the style Plus Lil Wayne and Drake always work together so they shouldn’t win and Beyonce’s song was boring as well as Kelly Rowland’s. Rihanna and Drake was a good pairing though and that song could just as easily win, because she’s got great songs. However, if Kanye wins, Taylor Swift better come out and tell him that Beyonce’s song was better.

 

Best Rap Song: Nominees

1. All of the Lights – Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie

2. Black and Yellow – Wiz Khalifa

3. I Need a Doctor – Dr. Dre, Eminem & Skylar Grey

4. Look at Me Now – Chris Brown, Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes

5. OTIS – Jay-Z & Kanye West

6. The Show Goes One – Lupe Fiasco

My Choice: I Need a Doctor 

(Same as above)

 

Best Rap Album: Nominees

1. Watch the Throne – Jay-Z & Kanye West

2. The Carter IV – Lil Wayne

3. Lasers – Lupe Fiasco

4. Pink Friday – Nicki Minaj

5. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West

My Choice: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Even though I hate Kanye West and he’s the proper village idiot of hip-hop, he put out a really strong record. His record with Jay-Z was also really good and I think both albums are up for grabs, but i think this one is the better of the two. Again though, I could be totally wrong. I haven’t studied hip-hop like i’ve studied rock and metal and therefore my opinions could be way off, but i really liked this record a lot as well as the Jay-Z/Kanye mix. Despite what Lil Wayne may say, these guys are the best in the biz.

Leave a Reply

