54th Grammys: Country

Now I’m just as surprised as you are about the fact that I’m starting to discuss Country. But the fact of the matter is it’s another form of music (despite what some may say) and there’s quite a big market for country music, so I’m merely trying to understand what it is about Country that makes it as popular as it is. I’m obviously no expert in this field, but I’m still gonna give it a shot. For this post we will discuss two out of the 4 Country awards:

Best Country Solo Performance: Nominees

1. Dirt Road Anthem – Jason Aldean

2. I’m Gonna Love You Through it – Martina McBride

3. Honey Bee – Blake Shelton

4. Mean – Taylor Swift

5. Mama’s Song – Carrie Underwood

My Choice: Dirt Road Anthem

The reason I chose this song was that in my opinion, this song best captures the essence of Country music as a whole and it doesn’t sound like it was ProTools’d to death like the Taylor Swift and the Martina McBride song sounded. The Blake Shelton song also sounded really good and would be my runner up, but I think Aldean will clean house this year.

Best Country Duo/Group Performance: Nominees

1. Don’t You Wanna Stay – Jason Aldean w/ Kelly Clarkson

2. You and Tequilla – Kenny Chesney feat. Grace Potter

3. Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars

4. Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not – Thompson Square

My Choice: Don’t You Wanna Stay 

The reason I chose this was partially because I think Jason will win everything he’s up for. I also think this track is important because it brings in Clarkson, who’s voice compliments the song perfectly and is responsible for putting some more life into her career. However, I think it’s important to pay attention to Thompson Square because that’s a really good song as well.

Best Country Song: Nominees

1. Are you gonna Kiss Me or Not  – Thompson Square

2. God Gave Me You – Blake Shelton

3. Just Fishin’ – Trace Adkins

4. Mean – Taylor Swift

5. Threaten Me With Heaven – Vince Gill

6. You and Tequilla – Kenny Chesney w/ Grace Potter

My Choice: Are you Gonna Kiss Me or Not

First off the fact that there’s no Jason Aldean song is slightly discomforting and may prove to be a monkey wrench in my logic. That being said, I think the Thompson Square song is the best mainly because I think songs  like the Blake Shelton song and the Taylor Swift song aren’t their best songs to offer for this category and so I think that this song is better and it just seems to own the Country sound better than the other.

Best Country Album: Nominees

1. My Kinda Party – Jason Aldean

2. Chief – Eric Church

3. Own the Night – Lady Antebellum

4. Red River Blue – Blake Shelton

5. Here for a Good Time – George Strait

6. Speak Now – Taylor Swift

My choice: My Kinda Party – Jason Aldean

Honestly, I thought the Lady Antebellum album was better than this album and I want that album to win. However, they aren;t really up for many other awards, which is weird and something you need to take into account. That being said, I think in terms of popularity (something I try to stray far from when it comes to music), I think the Jason Aldean album will win. Not to say that it’s not a good album. It’s a great album but I just love everything that Lady Antebellum have done (except for “Need you Now” because that songs bee shoved down our throats for far too long).

Leave a Reply

