Alice Cooper: Welcome 2 My Nightmare

One of the most notorious villains in rock and metal has just added another chapter to the seemingly endless saga that is Alice Cooper. Since the late sixties, Vincent Furnier (aka Alice Cooper) has taken metal music to new heights and opened the floodgates to theatrics in rock and metal music, spawning such musical followers as Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson. He is truly a legend in the metal world and really needs no introduction.

With his newest and 26th studio album, Alice Cooper creates a “sequel” to his 8th studio cd, and arguable his magnum opus, “Welcome to My Nightmare”.  However, if you’re expecting more creepy songs featuring Vincent Price and/or an epic journey through the twisted mind of Alice Cooper, then I think some listeners will be slightly disappointed. Ever since Alice Cooper spiraled into a deep addiction to alcohol and got clean and sober, I feel like his songwriting was greatly diminished. Most of the albums throughout the 80s and 90s just simply aren’t that good. Not many great songs and I just don’t want any of those songs in an Alice Cooper greatest hits live show. Maybe I’ve just been too poisoned by the music surrounding me at the time and wasn’t able to appreciate it for what it was at the time, but I just don’t like those Alice Cooper albums and this one isn’t my favorite either.

Right off the bat with this album I had a HUGE problem with the opening track, “I Am Made of You” because the whole song Alice had VOCODER VOCALS!!!! Are you serious!!! THATS NOT METAL!!!! This guy is one of the most metal mother fuckers in music, yet he used vocoder vocals…I was seriously disappointed with Alice on this account, so thankfully he didn’t use them on any other album. The rest of the album however for the most part is very straightforward 4/4 paced classic rock hard rock songs. Just the song titles alone pretty much give the song away (“Caffeine”, “A Runaway Train”, “The Congregation”). A lot of the songs also have a country-blues twinge to it, which isn’t uncommon for Alice Cooper, especially if you’ve heard his really early material, but it’s also not something I really wanted from Alice Cooper.

I don’t know, I guess I  don’t know what I was expecting from Cooper. I don’t know what I was expecting. I mean, I knew this record wouldn’t sound like the next “Antichrist Superstar” and that Cooper isn’t the most profound lyricist, but I just feel like the songs are too goofy for Cooper. The first “Welcome to My Nightmare” would  have literally given nightmares to many people and I know that people nowadays aren’t shocked by anything, but it seems like Alice Cooper didn’t even try to make this record scary or suspenseful. Again, maybe I expected too much from Cooper and that just isn’t how he operates, but I just didn’t want this record. It’s not a bad record, but with a title intimating on a new “Welcome to My Nightmare” and with a gory album cover to support that, I just fee like the songs didn’t deliver. It’s by no stretch of the imagination anywhere in the same league as “Welcome to My Nightmare” in my opinion and i don’t think I would really be crushed if Alice Cooper didn’t play any of these songs in a live set, if you know what I mean.

This isn’t a record made just for the sake of making a record just to pay the bills, but i’m not so sure I understand whats going on in that head of his. I’m not saying that Alice shouldnt be making records anymore, but in a world where no one buys cds and artists get their money from touring, I wouldnt make a record that doesnt have very decent songs worth being played next to songs like “Elected”, “Schools Out”, “Feed my Frankenstein” and of course, “Welcome to my Nightmare”.

If there are any of you out there who think that I’m completely crazy about this new album, pleas take the time to share your opinions on why you think I’m wrong. I’m always up for a little debate. Thanks for reading. Take care,

Luke Helker

Leave a Reply

